What are the Scandinavian countries?


There’s nothing special about the Scandinavian term. Scandinavian is a region in Northern Europe. So, countries lie in this region are called Scandinavian countries. Scandinavian countries are three kingdoms of Denmark, Norway, and Sweden. They called Scandinavian countries because of Scandinavian peninsula. That’s the simple reason behind thins.

Also see: Which country is known as the Land of the Midnight Sun?

Norway and Sweden share the Scandinavian peninsula region that covers a total area of 289,500 square miles. Denmark doesn’t have land in Scandinavian peninsular, but it occupies the land known as the Jutland peninsula. Denmark used to have the lands in southern Sweden. It is also said that the original homeland of the Danes was in southern Sweden. That’s the reason it is also one of the Scandinavian countries even if it doesn’t occupy any land of Scandinavian peninsula region now.

Scandinavian countries

There’s one more interesting theory being Scandinavian region. There’s a common word called Skandinavien in Swedish, Norwegian, and Danish languages. The word Skandinavien re refers to the ancient territories of the Norsemen that includes Norway, Sweden, and Denmark. This definition is commonly accepted.

Finland is not the part of Scandinavia but it could be considered Scandinavian geographically. At one time, it was a part of the Swedish Kingdom and most Finns used to be Scandinavians. But Finnish is not a Scandinavian language and people of Finland are also ethnically distinct.


Also see: Coldest Countries in the World

But there’s another term called Nordic countries. Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Iceland, and Greenland are considered to be Nordic countries. So, Nordic countries are all five of the northern European countries.

Here is the map showing the Nordic region.

Now you know what are Scandinavian countries. Just three countries are Scandinavian countries. Finland is not one of the Scandinavia countries. Nordic countries include Scandinavian countries.